Ian Fielding: The Difference between Comedy, Horror and Drama

After a great comedy, horror or Drama you should feel as though you have temporarily vanquished all the monsters that have oppressed you. Catharsis. So how do these storytelling strategies achieve this end?

For the example I’m going to take one of our times great unresolved terrors, cancer, and see how different story approaches, and in a wider sense, different life approaches, colour the subject in different ways.

First, comedy: it shows you the indifference towards the sufferers. The condition is made light of or ignored completely. Then in horror, we can given little more then the word cancer and the rest is left to our imaginations. Or our anxieties are given the horror image itself, cancer’s actual manifestation in the body, the visual of the tumour. Then finally, for tragedy or Drama, we are shown the crushed desires of the sufferer, the things that could have been done to prevent the illness and the people left behind. The subject remains the same but the attitude generates laughter, fear or tears.

My name’s Ian. I’m a writer and Filmmaker from London currently shooting my second feature film – a detective thriller called Dead Unicorns

To see pics, a trailer and what’s currently happening with Dead Unicorns click here:

http://deadunicornsfilm.wordpress.com

 

Follow FilmAche on Twitter

5 Comments on “Ian Fielding: The Difference between Comedy, Horror and Drama”

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  2. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m reasonably
    certain I will learn lots of new stuff proper here! Best of luck for
    the next!

  3. Asking questions are in fact fastidious thing if you are not understanding something entirely, but this article provides
    fastidious understanding yet.

  4. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your
    sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. All the best

  5. I do trust all of the ideas you’ve introduced to your post. They are very convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for beginners. May just you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.


Leave a Reply

